Homemade Almond Milk

IMG_1586

I love almond milk, I have it everyday, several times a day. I get my days started with almond milk. Almond milk in my coffee, almond milk in my oatmeal, almond milk in my cereal. So why not try and make my own? I don’t know why it took me so long to finally make my own almond milk, even though it was time consuming, I was thrilled with the finished product.

The fact that I knew every single ingredient that was going into making this (almonds, water and dates) made me feel even better about making it. You can try almond milk with anything, I love blending it with my espresso in the mornings, and also enjoying it with my almond cake for a delicious mid afternoon snack. How do you enjoy your almond milk?

IMG_1517IMG_1523IMG_1532

Homemade Almond Milk

Ingredients

1 cup of raw almonds
4 cups of water
3 Pitted dates

Directions
  1. Soak the almonds overnight or up to 2 days. Place the almonds and water in a medium sized bowl. Let stand, uncovered, overnight for up to 2 days. (The longer the almonds soak, the creamier the almond milk.)
  2. Drain and rinse the almonds. Drain the almonds from their soaking water and rinse them thoroughly under cool running water.
  3. Combine the almonds, dates and new water in a blender. 
  4. Blend at high speed for 2 minutes. Pulse the blender a few times to break up the almonds, and dates. The almonds will be broken down into a very fine meal and the water should be white.
  5. Strain the almonds with a fine mesh sieve over a cup. Pour the almond mixture into the strainer.
  6. Press all the almond milk from the almond meal. Repeat until you have extracted all of the milk form the almond meal. You should get about 2 cups of almond milk.
  7. Refrigerate almond milk. Store the almond milk in sealed containers such as mason jars and refrigerate for up to 5 days.

Enjoy! ♥

3 thoughts on “Homemade Almond Milk

  1. Mmm looks so good. I usually just buy Silk vanilla almond milk since it’s GMO free, but this is so much cheaper making it myself! What do you do with the almond/date pulp? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

