Honey & Peanut Butter Granola

Since we are still in the month of November and it is still national Peanut Butter month, I decided to make great use of the peanut butter I had left over from the Chocolate dipped Peanut Butter cookies. I am a huge fan of having a bowl of cereal or granola for breakfast, but most importantly for dinners on long days dealing with final semester assignments.

I wanted a granola that wasn’t tooo sweet and would make me feel energized, and somewhat healthy with a plentiful dollop of greek yogurt, and drizzled with honey.  The added cranberries give this granola a feel of eating an adult version of a  PB&J sandwich.

With zero experience of making granola I must admit I did a fine, good job and  more importantly it was extremely simple to make. I looked through my pantry and grabbed anything I thought would make for a tasty and satisfying granola- cinnamon being the first thing. I even threw in some wheat germ and automatically considered this to be a healthy treat!

Honey & Peanut Butter Granola

2 cups quick oats
¾ cup peanut butter (I used crunchy)
½ cup of honey
¼ cup of wheat germ
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 Handful of almonds
½ teaspoon of ginger
1 teaspoon grounded instant coffee
½ cup of cranberries
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon olive oil

Additional:
Greek yogurt
Drizzle of honey

Preheat oven to 325°F. In a large bowl mix together the oats, cinnamon, ginger, wheat germ, ground coffee, and almonds. Place peanut butter and honey in a microwave safe bowl and heat for 45 seconds until the mixture is melted together. Pour the peanut butter mixture over the dry ingredients until well blended. Place mixture in a parchment lined cookie sheet and spread it evenly, bake for 30 minutes and stir once while baking. Remove the granola from the oven and place in a bowl and mix in the cranberries.

Enjoy!♥

5 thoughts on “Honey & Peanut Butter Granola

  1. This looks so tasty. I am a granola freak! Have never tried coffee as a flavoring in granola, so I suppose it’s time to grow up.

Leave a Reply

