Greek Yogurt Brownies

20121024-202900.jpg

Wouldn’t it be great if all of the sweet treats you ate had no effect on your waistline? Coming up with variations of recipes gives me the opportunity to make the final product exactly how I want it to turn out. I first created this by just replacing the necessary 1/2 cup of oil instructed on the brownie box with only a 1/2 cup of greek yogurt and that turned out to be a complete gooey mess. Realizing an egg would be vital for this recipe to work I added just one egg white, and also instead of 1/2 cup of greek yogurt I replaced it with 1/4 cup of water and 1/4 cup of greek yogurt.Not only do you get the great brownie taste and texture, but they are healthier for you than regular brownies made with oil.
20121023-232248.jpgHave all of your ingredients together, and pre-heat your oven to 325 degrees.
20121023-232306.jpgPlace the brownie mixture in the medium sized bowl and mix in the egg white and water.20121023-232324.jpgAfter combining the brownie mixture, egg white, and water, add the greek yogurt. I used plain non-fat Fage yogurt but any brand will work. I was considering using the vanilla flavored greek yogurt but was glad I did not because it would have added an extra flavor and thrown off the original scrumptious brownie taste. Make sure you thoroughly combine all the ingredients and pour it in an 8 x 8 metal pan and bake for 40 minutes.
20121023-232348.jpg

After removing from the oven let it cool for about 5-10 minutes if you can wait that long, and enjoy a piece or two with a glass of cool milk. I love the contrast between the warm straight out of the oven brownie with cold milk. The best part about eating the Greek Yogurt Brownies is that you will not feel as bad about sneaking a treat in your diet after you feast on this flavorful healthier treat.

Enjoy! ♥

5 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt Brownies

  1. Those look sinfully decadent. I’m not even really a big chocolate fan, but Ghirardelli does it right. 😀 Also adding yogurt to baked goods gives them a great tart bite that cuts all that sweet. I have also seen people add mayo, but this is much healthier and, in my opinion, tastes better. Anyway, thank you for stopping by my blog, I hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

