Garlic & Parsley Turkey Burger

Hamburger night was always my favorite night at home. Knowing that my mom was going to have her scrumptious, juicy burgers waiting for me after a long day of school and swim practice made me very eager for the moment I was sitting by the dinning room table devouring her mouthwatering burger(s). Have I mentioned they are delicious? On the rare chance of a weekday that I was at home watching her prepare dinner, I unfailingly took as many mental notes as possible while she created this masterpiece. I use most of her techniques except I switched a few ingredients around.
Always striving to eat healthy, yet flavorful I exchanged the ground chuck she used for ground turkey. Because what is more healthy than a turkey burger right?

Mise-en-Place

I believe this step is key to creating a tender turkey burger. The mix of the bread and almondmilk brings moisture to the usually dry turkey. Any milk will work for this, use what you already have in the fridge. I also add the garlic & parsley powder for extra flavor.

Milk and bread mixture

Combine the mix into the ground turkey and let it sit for 5-8 minutes so the turkey soaks in all of the flavors.

While you have the turkey set aside, sauté the mushrooms with a teaspoon of olive oil, sea salt, freshly cracked black pepper and a sprinkle of fresh, finely chopped garlic and parsley.

Using the same sauce pan as the mushrooms, sauté the onions until soft and transparent with a small amount of olive oil (I used pre chopped onions).

Combine the onions with the ground turkey along with another sprinkle of parsley. Add 1 teaspoon of worcestershire sauce and a pinch of cinnamon trust me, it works. And make the turkey patties, mine usually vary by size depending on the size of the buns I am using.

Cook the turkey burgers until they become a lovely golden brown and time varies depending on your preference, I love mine cooked medium so its a little pink on the inside. Usually 4 minutes on each size on medium heat.

Assemble the turkey burger to your liking. I topped it of with a thin slice of swiss cheese, a thick slice of tomato, the sauteed mushrooms, a few arugula leaves, and it isn’t a burger until you add ketchup and mustard.

Serves 4:
1 lb.  ground turkey
1/4 cup of milk
1 slice of bread (any kind)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon of olive oil
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1 tablespoon of fresh parsley, chopped
5 ounces chopped portobello mushrooms
1 tablespoon of garlic and parsley powder
1 ounce of diced yellow onion
1 pinch of cinnamon
Your choice of 4 hamburger buns, I used fresh from the bakery
Optional:
Tomato slices
Swiss or any kind of cheese
Arugula
Ketchup and Mustard

Enjoy! ♥

14 thoughts on “Garlic & Parsley Turkey Burger

Leave a Reply

